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I. PURPOSE:  To provide direction to Peace Officers, assigned to Community Supervision, 
regarding their obligations as mandated reporters when there is reasonable cause to suspect 
child abuse or maltreatment of a child.  Peace Officers assigned to the following titles are 
considered to be mandated reporters while acting in their official or professional capacity: 

A. Institutional Safety Officer  

B. Parole Officer Trainee 

C. Parole Officer  

D. Senior Parole Officer  

E. Bureau Chief (BC) 

F. Assistant Regional Director (ARD) 

G. Regional Director  

H. Director of Internal Operations  

I. Assistant Commissioner  

J. Deputy Commissioner (DC) 

K. Parole Revocation Specialist (as authorized by the DC) 

L. Deputy Chief for the Parole Violation Unit (as authorized by the DC) 

M. Chief of the Parole Violation Unit (as authorized by the DC) 

II. POLICY:  In accordance with New York State Social Services Law, Article 6, Title 6, § 413 
and Department of Corrections and Community Supervision (DOCCS) policy, all Peace 
Officers assigned to Community Supervision shall be considered “mandated reporters” for 
purposes of reporting suspected child abuse or maltreatment.  Mandated reporters in New 
York State are required to report suspected child abuse or maltreatment when there is 
reasonable cause to suspect child abuse or maltreatment in a situation where a child, parent, 
or other person legally responsible for the child, is before the mandated reporter (DOCCS 
Peace Officer) when the DOCCS mandated reporter is acting in their official or professional 
capacity.  Reports of suspected child abuse or maltreatment shall be made immediately by 
telephone to the New York State Office of Children and Family Services (OCFS) “Mandated 
Reporter Hotline” (New York State Child Abuse and Maltreatment Register) at (800) 635-
1522 and to the Officer’s supervisor.  The written report must be submitted to the County 
Department of Social Services (DSS) where the suspected abused and/or maltreated child 
resides.  The written report must be filed within 48 hours of making the oral report. 
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III. DEFINITIONS 

A. Mandated Reporter:  For the purposes of this directive, all Peace Officers assigned to 
Community Supervision are considered mandated reporters for the purposes of 
reporting suspected child abuse or maltreatment.  Under New York State Social 
Services Law, there are a number of professionals from various fields including law 
enforcement, education, social services, health care, and childcare who are also 
considered to be mandated reporters.   

B. Reasonable Cause to Suspect:  Reasonable cause to suspect child abuse or 
maltreatment means that, based on the professional’s (Officer’s) rational observations, 
professional training, and experience, the parent or other person legally responsible for 
the child is responsible for harming the child or placing the child in imminent danger of 
harm.  Reasonable cause to suspect child abuse or maltreatment may also be 
determined following an investigation of a complaint, allegation, or information received 
from an immediate family member, relative, friend, associate, or other individual.      

C. Child Abuse:  An abused child is a child less than 18 years of age and whose parent or 
other person legally responsible for the care of the child: 

1. Inflicts or allows to be inflicted upon the child serious physical injury. 

2. Creates or allows to be created a substantial risk of physical injury.  

3. Commits sexual abuse against the child or allows sexual abuse to be committed. 

D. Child Maltreatment (Includes Neglect):  A maltreated child is a child under 18 years of 
age whose physical, mental, or emotional condition has been impaired or is in imminent 
danger of becoming impaired as a result of the failure of the parent or other person 
legally responsible for the care of the child to exercise a minimum degree of care: 

1. In supplying the child with adequate food, clothing, shelter, education, medical or 
surgical care, though financially able to do so or offered financial or other 
reasonable means to do so. 

2. In providing the child with proper supervision or guardianship.  

3. By unreasonably inflicting, or allowing to be inflicted, harm or substantial risk 
thereof, including the infliction of excessive corporal punishment. 

4. By misusing a drug or drugs. 

5. By misusing alcoholic beverages to the extent that the parent or other person 
legally responsible for the child loses self-control of their actions.  

6. By any other acts of a similarly serious nature requiring the aid of Family Court.  

7. By abandoning the child. 

E. Other Person Legally Responsible:  Refers to a guardian, caretaker, or other person 18 
years of age or older who is responsible for the care of the child. 

F. Authorized Recipient - Social Services Law, SOS § 422(k):  DOCCS is listed as a duly 
authorized investigative agency and/or organization under Social Services Law, SOS § 
422(k), and thus information obtained, written reports prepared, and photographs taken 
and in the possession of the local departments may be made available to DOCCS for 
purposes of conducting investigations involving individuals under supervision in the 
community. 
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IV. PROCEDURE 

A. Oral Report of Suspected Child Abuse or Maltreatment 

1. Community Supervision Peace Officers (applicable titles listed in Section I) 

a. Officers having a reasonable suspicion of a case of child abuse or 
maltreatment will immediately report the details of the case to their supervisor. 
Peace Officers assigned to Community Supervision titles are mandated child 
abuse reporters and Officers must immediately telephone the OCFS 
“Mandated Reporter Hotline” at (800) 635-1522 to make the initial oral report. 

b. The Officer shall make the oral report even if they believe that the matter has 
been reported by another mandated reporter or other individual. 

c. If an Officer receives a complaint or information regarding a releasee from an 
immediate family member, relative, friend, associate, or other individual 
alleging child abuse or maltreatment on the part of the releasee, the Officer 
will immediately initiate an investigation into the allegation or complaint.  If the 
Officer believes there is reasonable suspicion of a case of child abuse or 
maltreatment, the Officer will immediately report the information to the Child 
Abuse and Maltreatment Register (subsection IV-A-1-a) in order to complete 
the initial oral report.  If the Officer believes the child is in imminent danger, the 
Officer will immediately contact the law enforcement agency responsible for 
the particular jurisdiction. 

d. The Officer will inform the person making the complaint of the action taken by 
the Officer.  Where appropriate, the person making the complaint will be 
informed of the findings of the Officer. 

e. Under no circumstances is the Officer to reveal or divulge any information, 
documentation, or findings of an investigation conducted by a law enforcement 
agency or the New York State Child Abuse and Maltreatment Register.    

f. If an active investigation is being conducted by a law enforcement agency, the 
Community Supervision Officer will direct the person responsible for making 
the complaint to the law enforcement official responsible for conducting the 
investigation. 

2. Supervisor:  The supervisor will follow up with the Officer to ensure that the 
mandated oral report to the Child Abuse and Maltreatment Register has been 
made. 

NOTE:  The telephone number listed in subsection IV-A-1-a is the contact number 
to be utilized by mandated reporters.  The Child Abuse and Maltreatment Register 
will, upon receiving telephone notification, contact the local Child Protective 
Services (CPS), which will conduct the necessary investigation. 

B. Written Report of Suspected Child Abuse or Maltreatment 

1. Community Supervision Peace Officer 

a. Within 48 hours of making the initial oral report, the Officer must submit a 
written report to the local DSS, CPS.  The Officer will complete the NYS OCFS 
Form #LDSS-2221A, “Report of Suspected Child Abuse or Maltreatment.”  
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b. Form #LDSS-2221A (originally signed) is to be submitted to the County DSS 
office where the abused and/or maltreated child resides.  The social services 
office location may be found by accessing the following website: 

https://ocfs.ny.gov/directories/localdss.php     

c. The Officer shall prepare and submit Form #LDSS-2221A even if they believe 
a report has already been filed by another mandated reporter or other 
individual. 

d. The Officer will ensure that Form #LDSS-2221A includes the following: 

(1) Full name(s) of child(ren) 

(2) Sex 

(3) Age or date of birth 

(4) Race 

(5) Ethnicity 

(6) Relation, role, and language codes 

(7) Address and telephone numbers 

(8) Basis of suspicions (observations, alleged suspicions, etc.) 

(9) Nature and extent of injuries and maltreatment 

(10) Request finding of investigation 

(11) Additional sheet for description of incident 

(12) Any additional information that the Officer believes might be helpful in 
establishing the cause of the abuse or maltreatment and the identity of 
the person(s) responsible for harming or putting the child in danger 

(13) Source(s) of report 

(14) Relationship (Peace Officer as a mandated reporter) 

(15) Actions taken or to be taken by mandated reporter 

e. If applicable, the Officer will maintain a copy of Form #LDSS-2221A in the 
releasee’s case folder. 

f. Form #LDSS-2221A may be obtained by downloading the form from the New 
York State OCFS website: 

 https://ocfs.ny.gov/search/docs.php       

2. The supervisor will follow up with the Officer to ensure that the required Form 
#LDSS-2221A has been completed and submitted as required.   

C. Death of a Child:  Community Supervision Peace Officers who have reasonable cause 
to suspect that a child has died as a result of abuse or maltreatment must immediately 
report the information to the appropriate law enforcement agency responsible for the 
jurisdiction. 

D. Documentation:  Community Supervision Peace Officer  

1. Officers will provide information regarding a releasee under supervision to CPS 
upon a determination by the ARD and BC that such information is relevant to an 
investigation of child abuse or maltreatment as conducted by CPS. 

https://ocfs.ny.gov/directories/localdss.php
https://ocfs.ny.gov/search/docs.php
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2. Community Supervision Peace Officers responsible for conducting investigations 
involving releasees are considered authorized recipients of child protective 
confidential information and may request such information from CPS.  In requesting 
this information, the Officer must certify that the confidential information is required 
in order to conduct an investigation and that there is reasonable cause to believe 
the subject of the investigation is a releasee under the jurisdiction of DOCCS. 

NOTE:  Under the provisions of the Social Services Law, any person or official 
required to report may take or cause to be taken, at public expense, color 
photographs of the areas of trauma visible on a child who is the subject of a report 
and, if medically indicated, may cause x-rays to be taken of the child.  Any 
photographs or x-rays taken must be sent to the local CPS at the time Form 
#LDSS-2221A is sent or as soon thereafter as possible. 

V. PROTECTIVE CUSTODY:  A child may be placed in protective custody without a court order 
and without the consent of the parent or other person legally responsible regardless of 
whether the parent or other person legally responsible for the child’s care is absent only if:  

A. The child is in such circumstance or condition that continuing at home or in the care and 
custody of the parent or other person legally responsible for the child’s care presents an 
imminent danger to the child’s life or health. 

B. There is not enough time to file a case in Family Court. 

C. Certain persons are allowed to take children into protective custody.  These include 
Peace Officers, law enforcement officials, agents of duly incorporated Societies for the 
Prevention of Cruelty to Children, designated employees of city or county DSS, and 
physicians. 

D. If an authorized person removes or keeps custody of a child, they must:  

1. Bring the child immediately to a place approved for this purpose by the local DSS, 
unless the person is a physician treating the child and the child is or will be 
presently admitted to a hospital. 

2. At the same time as the removal, give written notice to the parent or other person 
legally responsible for the child’s care of the right to apply to the Family Court for 
the return of the child and of the right to be represented by counsel in abuse or 
neglect proceedings as well as the procedures for obtaining counsel if indigent; 
and, include in the written notice their name, title, and organization, as well as the 
address and telephone number of the organization, the name and telephone 
number of the child care agency to which the child will be taken and, if available, 
the telephone number of the person to be contacted for visits with the child. 

3. Inform the parent or other person legally responsible for the child’s care in writing 
of the intent of a duly authorized agency, a Peace Officer, Police Officer, or 
authorized agent to apply for an order of temporary removal or a temporary order 
of protection.   

Included in the written notice must be the date and the time that the application will 
be made, the address of the court where the application will be made, the right of 
the parent or other person legally responsible for the child’s care to be present at 
the application and at any hearing held regarding the order as well as the right to 
be represented by counsel and of the procedures for obtaining counsel, if indigent. 
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4. Inform the Family Court and make a report pursuant to the CPS Act as soon as 
possible. 

E. Where a physician keeps a child in custody in the capacity as a member of the staff of a 
hospital or similar institution, pending action by the local DSS or appropriate authorities, 
they are required to notify the person in charge of the institution, or designated agent, 
who then becomes responsible for further care of the child. 

A physician has the right to keep a child in custody until the custody of the child has 
been transferred to the appropriate police authorities or to the social services official of 
the city or county in which the physician practices but no longer than until the next 
regular weekday session of the appropriate Family Court.  If a social services official 
receives custody of the child, they are required to promptly inform the parent or other 
person responsible for the child’s care and the Family Court of the action and, at the 
next regular weekday session of the Family Court, commence a child protective 
proceeding or return the child.  If the child protective service takes a child into custody 
and the parent is not present, the service must immediately notify the closest local 
police station. 

NOTE:  Section V, Protective Custody Statutory References - New York Family Court Act, §§ 
1022, 1023, 1024, 1026; New York Social Services Law, § 417.    

 

 

 

 

   


